Saturday, February 26, 2011

UH Law Students Win Top Awards at Columbia University Moot Court Competition

University of Hawai‘i law students will bring home coveted awards from a national competition held at Columbia University Law School on February 25 and 26.
  • Second year law student Elika Stimpson won 3rd Place in the Best Oralist category.

  • Third year Law students Keani Alapa and Maxwell Kopper won 1st Place in the Best Advocate (formerly Best Overall) category.

Another third year law student duo composed of Jeannin Russo and Mark Jensen argued in the semi-final (“final four”) round; the UH law school represented one-half of the top four teams at the competition.

The competitionʻs elimination rounds began at 9am on February 26 with the top 16 teams. The William S. Richardson School of Law had four teams participating representing one-quarter of the top 16 teams.

Bill Meheula, a Honolulu attorney who accompanied the team said, “All our students were awesome, everyone did very well.” The University of Hawaiʻi team is composed of 11 students: Keani Alapa, Maria Carmichael, Tyler Gomes, Mark Jensen, Sarah Kaopuiki, Maxwell Kopper, Ana Won Pat-Borja, Adam Roversi, Jeannin Russo, Elika Stimpson, and Sherilyn Tavares.

The National Native American Law Students Association has sponsored this competition since 1993. The William S. Richardson School of Law first participated in the competition in 1994. Between 1997 and 2011, the law school has earned a total of 23 awards in this competition.

No comments: