Tuesday, October 27, 2009

Hawaiʻi National Native American Law Students Association Moot Court Team

The new members of the William S. Richardson School of Lawʻs Native American Moot Court Team have been selected. This year proved to be another grueling process for tryout judges, Professors Melody MacKenzie, Williamson Chang (advisor), and Carl Christensen. Each year a good number of students tryout for the team. Selecting the new team members was no easy task as numerous law students tried-out and were quite good in their advocacy skills. Tryouts were conducted over the course of two days earlier this month.

Pictured. Back row: *Mark Kaetsu, Chasid Sapolu, *Max Kopper, *David Kopper, Uilisone Tuʻa, *Keani Alapa, Jesse Smith. Front row: Captain Kaʻupena Soon, Lahela Hite, *Jeannin Russo, *Malia Gibson, *Sherilyn Tavares, and Scott Shishido.

* denotes newly admitted team member.

Our team participates annually in the National Native American Law Students Association Moot Court Competition. This year the competition (in its 18th year) will be held in Vermillion, South Dakota, February 19-20, 2009. More information about the competition is available at www.usdnalsa.org.

Last year, the Richardson duo of Ann Otteman and Jesse Smith captured Second Place in last yearʻs overall category (Best Advocates) at the competition held in Boulder, Colorado. In the past five years Richardson teams have performed well in the competition. In the years 2007-2009, Richardson teams ascended to the final oral argument round of the competition. In 2005 and 2006, Richardson teams placed Second and Third respectively for Best Brief. (see the teamʻs track record below) Prior to these years, Richardson teams consistently performed well.

If you would like to help support the team financially, PLEASE CLICK HERE to make a tax-deductible online donation.

Year Award
1997 Best Oralist First Place
1998 Best Overall Team Second Place
1998 Best Brief Third Place
1999 Best Overall Team First Place
1999 Best Overall Team Third Place
1999 Best Brief Second Place
1999 Best Brief Third Place
1999 Best Oralist Third Place
2000 Best Overall Team First Place
2001 Best Overall Team First Place
2003 Best Oralist Second Place
2005 Best Brief Second Place
2006 Best Brief Third Place
2007 Best Advocates First Place (formerly known as Best Overall)
2007 Best Oralist Second Place
2008 Best Brief First Place
2008 Best Oralist First Place
2008 Best Advocates Third Place
2008 Best Advocates Second Place
2009 Best Advocates Second Place

1 comment:

Filibustered said...

I'm sure this group is going to dominate... in the cold cold winter of the Dakotas.